Other councils with Precinct Systems

Since the 1980s, North Sydney’s Precinct System has had significant interest from local government organisations based in Australia and overseas. In the 1980s and 1990s many local government areas in NSW established Precinct Systems inspired by North Sydney's model, including Kiama, Lake Macquarie, Leichhardt, Liverpool, Manly, Randwick, Shoalhaven, Sutherland, Waverley, Wollongong and Wyong; a few have existed in South Australia and Western Australia. Today, Precinct Systems continue in Kiama, Randwick and Waverley areas (alongside North Sydney). Other council areas who had a Precinct System evolved their program into Neighbourhood Forums (or similar) and placed based approaches to neighbourhood planning. With the introduction of online technology and social media, many have moved to online engagement panels.

Over the years, Council has welcomed delegations of local government representatives from Japan interested in learning more about the model. The most recent delegation visited in October 2022, where Council staff, together with representatives from Milson and Willoughby Bay Precinct Committees discussed the Precinct System and shared lessons learnt.

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link
loader image
Didn't receive confirmation?
Seems like you are already registered, please provide the password. Forgot your password? Create a new one now.
Submitting your comment